Osha Liang Sponsors DCFemTech’s 3rd Annual Awards Celebration

See below for photos from the event.

Osha Liang announced today that the firm is a proud sponsor of DCFemTech, the coalition of women leaders aimed at lowering the barriers to entry for women in tech by amplifying the efforts of women in tech organizations.  The annual event has recognized 48 women as recipients of their annual DCFemTech Awards. On May 18th, the organization and its members will host a reception at The Washington Post to celebrate the recipients and nominees.  Representing Osha Liang at the event will be partners Jeffery Langer and Seema Mehta.

DCFemTech opened the call for nominations for outstanding women engineers, designers and data scientists—a new category this year—based in the DC region on February 28, 2017 and received 393 submissions representing 169 women.

DCFemTech aims to support organizations that enable women to build their skills and create communities in the tech scene while also encouraging companies to make it a priority to hire talented women engineers, designers, data scientists and other tech leaders. The awards program was conceptualized to focus exclusively on the DC region’s women engineers and programmers, as opposed to awards that recognize women working in non-technical roles at technology companies.

Nominations were down selected by a committee comprised of engineers, designers data scientists, and executives for each category and this year’s recipients were chosen based on each woman’s impact on the organization they work for, the complexity of the issue they addressed with code or design or data, and their impact on the community, or contributions to the greater women in tech space. The final awardees ranked in the top 25 percent of their respective categories.

The 2017 DCFemTech award recipients are:


  • Pamela Assogba, Vox Media
  • Aditi Chaudhry, Capital One
  • Lisa Chung, Motley Fool
  • Megan DeLaunay, Capital One
  • Courtney Eimerman-Wallace, Color of Change
  • Rakia Finley, FIN Digital & Surge Assembly
  • Erica Geiser, Social Tables
  • Betsy Haibel, Roostify
  • Anita Hall, The Washington Post
  • Lauren Jacobsen, General Assembly
  • Sana Javed, National Journal
  • Veni Kunche, US Geological Survey
  • Leigh Lawhon, TheSELFTaughtDeveloper.com
  • Natassja Linzau, National Academies of Science
  • Laura Lorenz, Industry Dive
  • Emily McAfee, Mapbox
  • Katherine McClintic, LivingSocial/Groupon
  • Tammy Perrin, Attunity
  • Clare Politano, Social Tables
  • Jennifer Safford McGerald, AOL Inc.
  • Rachel Shorey, The New York Times Interactive
  • Liz Theurer, United Income
  • Kristian Tran, Deloitte Digital
  • Pamela Vong, InfernoRed Technology
  • Sabrina Williams, US Digital Service


  • Ashleigh Axios, Automattic
  • Jessica D’Amico, Just Jess & Peers Conference
  • Laura Ellena, Ad Hoc
  • Ngan Hoang, Vox Media
  • Audra Koklys Plummer, Capital One
  • Amy Lee Walton, Mapbox
  • Catherine Madden, Relay by Catherine Madden
  • Hareem Mannan, Excella Consulting
  • Laura McGuigan, Atypical Notion
  • Chloe Negron, Nclud
  • Shelly Ni, Nava PBC
  • Alisha Ramos, Nava PBC
  • Alesha Randolph, Vox Media
  • Liz Rose Chmela, Made by We


  • Danielle Beaulieu, Origent Data Sciences
  • Rebecca Bilbro, Bytecubed/District Data Labs
  • Nicole Donnelly, The Office of the Chief Technology Officer, Government of the District of Columbia
  • Laura Drummer, Novetta
  • Kate Rabinowitz, DataLensDC
  • Jennifer Sleeman, Deep Learning Analytics
  • Anna Thorson, National Geographic Partners
  • Angela Wong, The Washington Post
  • Elena Zheleva, National Science Foundation


What: DCFemTech Awards Reception

When: Thursday, May 18th, 2017 from 6-8pm

Where: The Washington Post, 1301 K Street, NW, Washington, DC

Media can RSVP: https://nvite.com/dcft17 or by e-mailing Lisa Throckmorton at lthrockmorton@speakerboxpr.com

About DCFemTech

DCFemTech is a coalition of women leaders aimed at amplifying the efforts of women in tech organizations, sharing resources, and bringing leaders together to close the gender gap. Members are affiliated with organizations with women attendance that is 50% or higher, who have a focus on technology and who have a primary focus in the mission statement about gender or women.

Photos from the event: